General Pool Rules Clarification

Hitting a Ball with a Rack


So this is the scenario:

The incoming player calls his object ball in a designated pocket. He must use the rack to aid with the shot. While lining up the shot, the rack hits the cue ball and pockets the correct object ball in the correct pocket. Is this a foul due to the cue not being used to strike the cue ball?

Thank you


Yes it is a foul. Even a foul that leads to a special intentional foul penalty, which means that if it happens twice; it might cause you to lose the game!

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls