9Ball Pool Rules Clarification

No Rail and Jawed Ball


I have a question about the 5.9 No Rail rule in 9 ball

No numbered ball has been pocketed and nor the cue ball or any numbered ball has been driven to a rail. However, one numbered ball is now "in the mouth of a pocket". Is that a foul or is that not a foul?




According to General Rule 3.33 regarding Jawed Balls, the referee should follow the procedure described in the rule to decide whether the ball/s will remain pocketed or will be spotted. If it is an informal game played without a referee, then you can ask any unbiased witness (the pool hall owner, a player from other table) to assess.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls