9-Ball Pool Rules Clarification

Combination Shots, Scratch & Call Shot in 9-Ball


In 9 ball, if you call a combination shot to sink the nine ball and miss the nine ball and fail to hit the nine off the numbered ball, is it a scratchor just loss of turn?

And when you scratch while trying to sink the 9 ball - is the game over?

Last one: what happens if you sink the 9 off a numbered ball without calling the shot?



  1. This scenario is considered a foul, which results in a loss of turn
  2. No, but it is a foul and your opponent gets the cue ball in hand
  3. 9 ball is not a call shot game. If you and your partner decide in advance to make it a call shot game, you should also decide on the penalties for possible consequences such as this.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls