Safety Shots in 8Ball


On a called safety, is there any penalty for not pocketing your ball?

Plus, is there any limit of safety shots in a game?

Thanks, George


Hi George,

A safety shot is defined as a legal shot, i.e. you won't be penalized for not pocketing your ball as long as you'll cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a rail. The number of safety shots is not limited, but it we be safer to clarify this first with your partners and/or the house rules.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls