8-Ball Pool Q&A; No. 4

Scratch after the Break Shot


I was playing 8-ball with my dad the other day. I made the opening break shot, no balls were pocketed. My dad made a shot, calling a striped ball in and then immidiately scratch. Does this mean that the table is still open?

Thank you very much for your time


According to the official 8-ball rules, the table is open until a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot. Therefore, the table is still open until either of you gets to make a legal shot and you get the cue ball in hand.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls