8-Ball Pool Q&A; No. 3

Pocketing the 8-Ball with an Object Ball

Q:

I was playing 8-ball the other day. There was one of my object balls (yellow) and the 8-ball on the table. This was a shot I played to win the match, so I struck the cue ball and it followed through perfectly slicing the yellow and rebounding onto the 8-ball in turn sinking the yellow then the 8-ball.

I wasn't sure is this a legal move to win the match or should I make a separate shot on the 8-ball?

A:

No and Yes. Pocketing the 8-ball on the same stroke as the last object ball of your group of balls causes you to lose the game. Yes, you should have dedicated an exclusive shot to the 8-ball.

Next time…

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers



Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls