Hitting the 8-Ball


My grandson has had a disagreement with his friend over a game of pool and I wonder if you could clarify something for us. He has been told that if he hits (not pockets) the 8-ball during a game of pool, then he loses the game. Is there any instance when this is the case?

Many thanks


Your grandson's friend is right: a player has to hit an object ball, i.e. either one of the solid or striped balls for the shot to be legal.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls