Open Table

Can a Table stay Open an Entire Game?

Q:

My friends and I were playing last night and we had a big ordeal about something... As far as I know, if you don't make a ball on the break, the table is open. Then, the next person shoots and misses, so the table is still open. The breaker then hits a ball, makes it but misses next shot.

My friend said the table was still open and she was very adamant about it, going on and on about how it was open because I didn't make two in a row. I told her that this rule is valid only on the break; otherwise you could go through the entire game with the table still open…

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

A:

Hi,

You were right. Once either player pockets a ball after the break shot – as happened in your case – the table is no longer open! .

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers



Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls