Playing Pool by the Rules vs. Pool for Fun

Q:

I was recently told that when playing 8 ball pool and you are shooting your ball, you either have to hit your ball you've called or bank it twice if you don't do either, the other person gets to move the cue ball anywhere they want. We usually just play for fun and I have never heard of this rule… is it correct?

Thanks

A:

Hi,

It is only partially correct… In 8 ball, you either have to hit a ball of your group of (solid or striped) object balls and pocket a called ball or to contact the rail with any of the balls (including the cube ball). It seems like you've got a whole lot of reading to do. Instead of reading paragraph by paragraph, I would recommend you to start with reading about the legal shot rule and the clarification on the call shot, to get the essence of pool rules as opposed to playing just for fun.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers



Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls