Split Shot in 8Ball

Q:

I have a question about split shots in 8ball: if two of your object balls lie side by side and you can make both balls in each of their own called pockets in one shot, will it be a legal shot, or will it be considered a foul? Would it be the next player's turn, or will you continue your turn? What happens if the shot was taken without witness? Who can judge whether it was a foul or a legal shot?

A:

Hello,

A split shot is usually legal in 8ball, providing both balls were the shooter's object balls and they were contacted by the cue ball at the same time; otherwise it is a foul. In this particular scenario, you can prevent predicted disputes by calling an objective eye witness prior to making the shot.

Thanks for your asking

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers



Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls