Open Table Confusion



On the first shot after the break, the player calls a solid, but uses a striped ball in a combination. He sinks the solid but the striped ball follows the solid and sinks in the pocket.

Please advice on the correct ruling.


According to 8-ball pool rules, as long as the table is open, it is legal to use the striped ball to pocket a solid.

Therefore, this shot is not a foul, and the choice of group and the player can have the choice of group.

More Q&A; regarding the open table in 8ball

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls