Legal Shot

8-Ball Pool Rules Clarification


My friend has been told by his roommate that when an opponent's ball drops in before a legally hit object ball, it is considered a loss of turn.

I'm curious if you guys have heard of any rule like that. Please let me know. Thanks!


Your friend, or more accurate your friend's roommate, is not necessarily right; to lose a turn a player has to commit a foul, which isn't the case here. That, unless the cue ball hits the opponent's ball before hitting the legal object ball.

One more question and answer on legal shots in 8ball

Even more Q&A; on 8ball legal shots

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers

Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls