8-Ball Pool Q&A; No. 1

Scratch When Playing the 8-Ball

Q:

I was playing the 8-ball, hoping to win. So the 8-ball drops into the pocket and then scratch. Do I lose the game?

Thanks a lot, Jason

A:

Hi, Jason

Sorry to be one who tell so you this, but yes, you lose the game. As you can see in the official 8-ball pool rules, a player loses the game if fouls when pocketing the 8-ball, and scratch is a foul…

Q:

Hi, can you tell me who wins? Only two balls are left on the table: whitey and the black ball. The shot is taken and the two balls fall into the pocket first the white and then the black. Who wins?

A:

The correct question should be who loses… According to 8-ball rules, you don't lose if you scratch when playing the 8-ball (black ball) as long as the 8-ball is not pocketed. If you foul when pocketing the 8-ball – you lose the game.

More Pool Rules Questions & Answers



Pool Rules |  Contact |  Pool Games |  Pool Tournaments |  Pool Halls